How can we improve Discord?

Allow users to require confirmation before mentioning everyone

Users with roles that allow them to mention everyone (specifically those with Administrator permissions) should have the option to have the Discord client ask them if they are sure they want to send any message containing @everyone or @here. Having this feature be optional would allow it to be nonintrusive to those who do not have that worry, while being an effective measure for those in positions of power in larger servers to take to avoid upsetting users with accidental mentions.

The way I envision it is a simple pop-up such as the one that appears when deleting messages.

185 votes
Sign in
Signed in as (Sign out)

We’ll send you updates on this idea

ElatricElatric shared this idea  ·   ·  Flag idea as inappropriate…  ·  Admin →

4 comments

Sign in
Signed in as (Sign out)
Submitting...
  • XialXial commented  ·   ·  Flag as inappropriate

    I'd like that "Are you really sure you need to blast this message out to @EVERYONE?" confirmation.

    It's one of the features I enjoyed in Slack, as it would also tell you about your time zone impact at the same time, in order to get you to reconsider.

  • BinleeBinlee commented  ·   ·  Flag as inappropriate

    Good idea, I would recommend having it as a toggle that could be set on a per server basis.

Feedback and Knowledge Base